Opinion: The difficulty facing Canon (and everyone else)

I’m a professional and cannot shoot with a smart phone. My hobby is macro and wildlife and can’t shoot with a smartphone either.

I have already switched from FD to EF last century. That was a no brainer for most of us. The advantages were massive, and obvious, and immediate

The changes from EF to RF are not so drastic. I prefer the 5D Mk4 because it gives me longer battery and less strain in my eyes using the viewfinder. The weight and size are perfect. Canon are making life harder with locking down the RF mount for third party manufacturers. Introducing a new hotshoe and the mess this creates. They also have way too many camera bodies overlapping each other. Meanwhile RF lens lineup is lacking.

I’m not a happy Canon user anymore.

Reactions: 1 user
Upvote 0
Apr 25, 2011
I carry gripped R5 with RF 14-35 and EF 100-400 II (plus a Lenovo laptop, a powerbank and a set of spare batteries) in my (non-photo) Deuter Gigant backpack as carry-on on my vacation trips. That normally weights below 7 kg.

If there were Powershot G5X III with DPAF, I'd buy one and carry it, too, but I guess I'm in the minority here as well.

Upvote 0
I think most of the market nowadays are professionals and those with gear acquisition syndrome.
Exactly this; I would slightly change it to "professional and rich amateurs".

I see canon appealing to the rich amateurs (and rich pro) with all those gorgeous f2.8 zooms, the amazing 28.70 f2, the L primes, the supertelephoto lenses.
And I can see Canon appealing to the casual (but I would say, still with money in their pockets, as those lenses are uber expensive for what they offer) users with 15-30, 24-105 STM, 100-400 and 24-240 zooms.

Where I see Canon not appealing to is the average, "standard" professionals; they generally cannot justify the prices of the RF L lenses, and generally cannot work with the dark apertures of the low end RF zooms.