The Pros or The Enthusiasts?

I consider myself an amateur/enthusiast

There are two considerations I make when I tip my hat to the professionals and it's something that they earned through an investment of time and application of their expertise.

1. Shooting to a brief in a limited time: Taking those sunset wedding pics or being told you only have 4 hours at a venue. Shooting a venue without the luxury of scouting a location.
Then you still need to hit the shots as briefed by the client.
2. On location lighting: Oh mama!!! 2, 4, 8, 12 strobes on location, getting exposure right? Experience right there. All the YouTube videos one watches cannot make you an expert on this.

I have fairly high standards for my photography. I'm still learning so that benchmark changes as time goes on. But I can sit whole day or even a number of days somewhere and shoot. Then I can decide which images I like and delete the rest.

A pro, who's bread and butter is wholly or partly earned through photography does not have such luxury.

Upvote 0
I question the premise that a Professional and an Enthusiast are mutually exclusive.

Of course any discussion about professionals is worthless unless the term professional is defined. Ask three people what a professional means and you will get five answers. :)

To some it is simply earning money. To others it is more complex than that.

Me? I am just a frickin hobbyist trying to find time and money, despite real life, to do what I enjoy. ;D

Upvote 0
AcutancePhotography said:
I question the premise that a Professional and an Enthusiast are mutually exclusive.

Of course any discussion about professionals is worthless unless the term professional is defined. Ask three people what a professional means and you will get five answers. :)

To some it is simply earning money. To others it is more complex than that.

Me? I am just a frickin hobbyist trying to find time and money, despite real life, to do what I enjoy. ;D